The realisation of the Museum has been possible through the financial support of the State for the Jubelee of 2000, and grace to the high contribution of Foundation Monte of Parma,which has allowed the conservative and functional restoration of the Northern Women’s Gallery of the Cathedral.
The Museum area is in the East Side of the Bishop’s Palace, near the cathedral and its entrance is near the apse of the Cathedral itself ( 10/A Don Minzoni Street) It develops on three floors: .- underground floor: technological system, hygenic services, laboratory - ground floor : entrance, tickets /bookshop, temporary exibition room, - first floor : the treasure of the Cathedral.
The access to the Museum and to the rooms of the treasure is allowed to all visitors by an easy staircase and a lift . The connected section, the Northern Matroneum,is visitable on booking , when the religious functions are not acting, and can be reached through XIII century winding staircase in the North tower of the façade called “ Folletto” or “of the storks”.
The exit is near the sacresty of the Cathedral, through a staircase , probably a XVII century staircase and the unique ruin of the old Bishop Palace destroyed by the bombs of the alleys on Fidenza in 1944. In fact the two stairs really represent architectural features which deny the access to people with problems.